1950’s House Wife Mind, With a 2016 Woman’s Work Ethic.

As I woke up extra early today, I couldn’t help but laugh at myself. I woke up, cleaned the house, made coffee, and pulled out my planner to organize the sessions I have to shoot today. 

  
It made me laugh because a typical girl my age would have woken up, possibly made coffee, possibly would have just gone to Starbucks, posted pictures of this Starbucks, and asked their friends what they are doing today, but nope! Not me!

I wake up and make sure the house is clean for when my fiancé wakes up, I make sure coffee is ready for anyone who would like some, I’m too cheap to go buy us all Starbucks, and then I pull out my planner to organize the appointments from the business I have started.

I’m not bragging on myself, I am just having a realization of how proud I am of the person that I’ve become. I have become a mother, a business woman, a budgetter, a crafter, a wife, a cleaner(never saw this one coming honestly), and most importantly I have become ME. 

It just makes me wonder when others will become like me, too. Not ME but you know, when will they find who they are? For some it could be 20 years from now. Or maybe even never. And I’m so glad I have found myself now.

I remember being in highschool, crying over boys, drama etc, and I remember telling myself, “Mia. There’s a reason for this. It may hurt now, you may feel broken and like you’re not going to recover, but one day, maybe not soon but eventually you will feel okay. You will pick yourself up, and you’ll meet an amazing man and have a beautiful life. It won’t be easy, but you’ll make it there one day.” I used to lay on my bedroom floor crying (I was a drama queen I know) and I would repeat that to myself over and over “you’re going to be okay. You’re going to make something wonderful of your life one day.” 

  And here I am. Confident and happy. 

It’s so amazing to be able to get to a point where I can stop and reflect on who I’ve become, the good and the bad. I’m happy that I’ve turned into someone who can have dinner made, the house cleaned and be waiting for my (almost) husband to be here, all while managing my own income, paying bills, and still being here 90% of the time for my son. 

I’m just having a “go me” day. That’s all.

Xo

10 thoughts on “1950’s House Wife Mind, With a 2016 Woman’s Work Ethic.

  1. Jenn says:

    I don’t think I really had a grasp over who I really was until I was about 32. I’m with you, I wake up early get the house cleaned, coffee made, breakfast ready, and I make sure everyone gets to where they need to be and then I take care of my business. I love how my life has turned out and wouldn’t change it for anything! Really liked this, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. doctormikesblog says:

    Go you! It’s amazing that you’re able to balance all those activities and still be happy! It’s a really awesome feeling when the “person you are today” blows the “person you were in highschool” out of the water!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kindly Unspoken says:

    Aw this is such a great post! It is amazing once you finally “find yourself” and find happiness. I was the same way in high school with all the dramatics, so don’t feel bad-lol I love the look of your blog- so cute!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

